Great American Annuity Reviews

See what some of our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find annuities that are easier to understand, helping to achieve your goals with no surprises.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what some of our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!


— Anonymous on Aug 19, 2019

"Whenever I called to ask questions, customer service was outstanding, explaining everything patiently and clearly so I could understand everything. Thank you!"

"I was extremely pleased with the prompt attention our claim received, both by email and by mail. The process was efficient and easy to navigate. Of the three annuity companies I am currently dealing with, yours was the most responsive and timely."

Anonymous on Aug 12, 2019

— Maureen T. on Aug 10, 2019

"Unable to get any human being via the telephone line. It was a tedious exercise in futility. Why bother having a voicemail if it gets you nowhere? All I wanted were my tax documents."

We’re sorry to hear you had a difficult time contacting our Customer Service Representatives. Be sure to take advantage of our callback option to have a representative contact you! Additionally, tax documents can be found by logging into your account at GAIGannuities.com.


— Zoe N. on Aug 6, 2019

"Everyone I spoke to was professional and kind. They helped me greatly and made it easy to prepare and file my claim. I wish to express my appreciation to all of them."


— Jacquelyn M. on Aug 2, 2019

"The customer service representatives I spoke to were very helpful and efficient. I spoke to several representatives over the course of three days and everyone was attentive and answered by questions quickly."

"Excellent experience for over 20 years."

John W. on Jul 29, 2019

— Anonymous on Jul 26, 2019

"Thank you very much, the experience was great – especially your communication through text updates."


— Anonymous on Jul 17, 2019

"This account was handled through a third party administrator and they did a poor job of keeping touch with me. I only heard from them once after I set up the account almost ten years ago. I would possibly use Great American again, but not through a third party."

We know plan administrator requirements can be frustrating. We’re always available to help our policyholders work through any questions!


— Bonnie E. on Jul 12, 2019

"Great website; easy to navigate. Overall, an excellent experience."


— Leshia R. on Jul 3, 2019

"I appreciate the expediency you exercised to process my claim and how you reached out to me to clarify my questions. You definitely went out of your way to reach out to me. Thank you!"

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed September 11, 2019 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed March 14, 2019. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn more about Great American Annuities.

Tell us about your experience

Submit Feedback

Rating Key

Extremely satisfied

Very satisfied

Neutral

Somewhat satisfied

Not at all satisfied